The Quebec Provincial Police Force, well trained and alert, is in a position to provide the citizens of the Province with the protection they have a right to expect from it.

**Ontario Provincial Police.**—The Ontario Provincial Police is maintained by the Government of the Province of Ontario under the Attorney-General's Department. The Force is responsible for law enforcement in the rural and unorganized parts of the Province, and in certain municipalities by contract.

The development of the Force from its beginnings in the early years of Confederation to passing of the Police Act, 1946, is outlined at p. 332 of the 1950 Year Book.

At present the Force, with a strength of approximately 1,092, consists of a General Headquarters at Toronto and 16 Districts with headquarters at Chatham, London, Dundas, Niagara Falls, Aurora, Mount Forest, Barrie, Peterborough, Belleville, Perth, Cornwall, Haileybury, Sudbury, Cochrane, Port Arthur and Kenora. Each District has detachments adequate to meet law-enforcement requirements. A Criminal Investigation Branch of the Force, under the command of a Chief Inspector, is maintained at Toronto. This Branch investigates crimes of a major nature. The installation of one of the largest police frequency modulation radio systems in the world has placed at the command of the police a most efficient method of combating every type of lawlessness.

There are in operation 47 fixed stations and 351 two-way radio cruisers. The 250-watt stations at District Headquarters are open 24 hours daily and many of the cars are on continuous round-the-clock patrols.

Up to July, 1950, 75 municipalities have availed themselves of the provisions of the Police Act for the policing of their municipalities by the Ontario Provincial Police.

British Columbia Provincial Police.\*—The history of the British Columbia Provincial Police, the organization of which followed the influx of gold seekers in 1858, is given briefly at p. 333 of the 1950 Year Book.

The present strength of the Force is 530 all ranks. For administrative purposes, the Province is divided into 12 police Districts, each under the command of an Officer. A Criminal Investigation Branch is operative at Headquarters together with a training school. Short-wave radio is used extensively connecting 23 key stations throughout the Province and eight police boats patrolling the coast are also equipped with short wave and voice transmission.

Provincial Police also assist Federal as well as Provincial Departments seeking their aid and municipalities in 1925 were afforded the opportunity to contract Provincial Police Protection; 45 cities have signed these contracts.

The Provincial Police contributes invaluable help to youth activities. Talks are given on such subjects as behaviour, good citizenship, traffic safety, firearms and explosives, camping and camp precautions, first aid, etc. Voluntary assistance is also rendered to promote sports and games, and youth organizations call upon individual members of the Provincial Police for instruction.

<sup>\*</sup> As mentioned in the footnote on p. 279, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police took over the duties of the British Columbia Provincial Police on Aug. 15, 1950.